The New Jersey Association of Floodplain Management (NJAFM) aims to honor those who have made exemplary contributions to floodplain management in New Jersey.  Many of the awards are presented annually. However, awards of the highest honor are awarded only when an accomplishment or contribution to flood loss reduction deserves special recognition.  Nominations are requested from the NJAFM membership. Recipients are announced each year at the NJAFM Annual Conference.

Lifetime Floodplain Management Achievement:
This award is given by the Association to individuals who are highly instrumental in carrying forward the goals and objectives of floodplain management throughout their career.

Floodplain Management Leadership Award:
This award recognizes individuals, other than local officials, who have achieved success in a significant aspect of floodplain management. These efforts shall include, but not be limited to, education, government, policy, research, litigation, outreach, implementation or other actions which demonstrate the advancement of flood loss reduction within the nominee’s professional realm..

Outstanding Local Floodplain Management Official:
This award seeks to recognize outstanding individual efforts and contributions at the local level. It is designed to honor an individual responsible for the development of a local program or activity or one who has made great strides to implement and enforce flood hazard reduction at the local level.

Outstanding Floodplain Management Award:
This award is given annually to recognize an outstanding floodplain management program, project or activity in New Jersey. Eligible entries include projects, as well as, programs or activities at either a local, state or regional level worthy of recognition.

Media Award:
This award was established to acknowledge exemplary efforts on the part of communications media to increase information and/or awareness of flood issues with the general public.

Founder’s Award:
This award is presented to an individual who has demonstrated long-term leadership to the Association and made significant contributions that have clearly influenced and advanced the Association.

Past Award Winners

Website Issues? Contact Us

New Jersey Association For Floodplain Management
P.O. Box 1326 Trenton, New Jersey 08607

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software